Who is Gazi Yaşargil?

He was born on July 6, 1925, as a district governor child in Lice district of Diyarbakır. The mother's side is from the black sea and the father's side is based on the family belonging to the Kayhan tribe who first settled in Beypazarı. His father Asım bey was appointed to Diyarbakır Lice as district governor in 1924. On this occasion he was born there.

He completed his high school education in Ankara Atatürk High School. He won the Ankara University. In 1944 he continued his studies at Friedrich Schiller University in Germany. He received his PhD from Basel University in 1945 and in 1950 at the same university. Later, he worked in the psychiatry department as an assistant professor at the University of Bern. He started working at the Neurosurgery department of Basel University. Gazi Yaşargil, who continued his studies at the university hospital in Zurich between 1957 and 1965, was an assistant professor in 1965, and between 1965 and 1967, Microvascular surgery with Professor Peardon Donaghy in the Neurosurgery Department of the University of Vermont, Burlington, USA. carried out studies in the field. He is one of the founding members of the Eurasian Academy.


“Yaşargil clips”, which are identified with the surname used by their own method during neurosurgery in brain surgeries, are used by many doctors.

Gazi Yaşargil, the founder of microsurgical surgery, has the titles of "Neurosurgery", "Professor Doctor" and "Neurosurgery of the Century". Yaşargil treated epilepsy and brain tumor with methods he found. From 1953 to 1999 when he retired, he became the first physician, chief physician, and then a professor and chairman in the Department of Neurosurgery at the University of Zurich and the University Hospital of Zurich. In 1999, he was selected as the "Nerve Surgeon of the Century" (1950-1999) at the Traditional Neurological Surgeons Congress.

Honorary PhD

1991 - Istanbul University, Istanbul, Turkey
1999 - University of Lima,
2000 - Hacettepe University, Ankara, Turkey
2001 - University of Oxford
2002 - Friedrich-Schiller University of Jena, Germany
2019 - Eskişehir Osmangazi University in Eskisehir, Turkey


1976 - Brazilian Academy of Neurosurgery, [Brazil]
1977 - Association of Noro-surgeons, USA
1979 - American Heart Association, Dallas, Texas, USA (Honorary Fellow)
1981 - Canadian Neurosurgery Academy, Canada
1986 - Neurosurgery Congress
1987 - Japanese Neurosurgery Society, Japan
1989 - American Society of Neurosurgeons, Harvey Cushing Society, USA
1989 - Swiss Academy of Neurobiology, Switzerland
1990 - Royal Medical Society, London, Section of Neurology
1990 - Turkish Neurosurgery Association
1990 - International Skull Base Society
1993 - Swiss Neurosurgery Academy
1994 - Argentine Neurosurgery Society
1998 - American Society of Neurobiology
1998 - Academy of Sciences of Turkey
1999 - Peruvian Neurosurgery Academy
2000 - Italian Academy of Neurosurgery
2003 - Mexican Neurosurgery Association


1957 - “Vogt Award” - Swiss Ophthalmological Society
1968 - Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences Robert-Bing-Award
1976 - Swiss Federation Marcel-Benoit-Award
1980 - “Nerve Surgeon of the Year” Award
1981 - International Microsurgery Association, Sydney, Astralia Pioneer Microsurgeon Award
1988 - Universita di Napoli e della Compagna Naples, Italy Medal of Honor
1992 - Republic of Turkey Prize for Medicine
1997 - World Federation of Neurosurgery Associations Gold Medal
1998 - Dear Faculty Member, Medical Sciences University of Arkansas
1998 - Honored as "Neurosurgeon of the Century" by Brazilian Neurosurgery Association
1999 - Medal of Honor Neurological Surgeons European Union
1999 - Awarded as "Neurosurgery User Man of the Century" by Nurosurgery magazine at the Annual Congress of Neurological Surgeons
2000 - Fedor Krause Medal, German Neurosurgical Society
2000 - American College of Surgeons 2000 Honors Scholarship
2000 - Distinguished Service Medal of the Republic of Turkey
2000 - Turkish Academy of Sciences 2000 Award
2002 - International Francesco Durante Award, Italy
2002 - National Sovereignty Honor Award
2005 - National Sovereignty Honor Award (Second time)

📩 12/05/2020 13:43

Be the first to comment

Leave a response

Your email address will not be published.