CERN's Birthday

CERN Yasgun
CERN Yasgun

The convention establishing CERN was ratified by 29 countries in Western Europe on September 1954, 12. The abbreviation CERN was originally used by the Conseil Européen pour la Recherche Nucléaire (European Nuclear Research Council) represented the French words.

CERN Birthday
CERN Birthday


What could be better than a proton cake for CERN's 67th birthday?
Baked by Rebeca Gonzalez Suarez and Elias Coniavitis, this cake is a cake with gingerbread cookies and colorful sea quarks for two up quarks and one down quark.

University of Copenhagen under Niels Bohr before it moved to its current location in Geneva. Although its name was changed to the current Organization Européenne pour la Recherche Nucléaire (European Organization for Nuclear Research) in 1954, the abbreviation for the new laboratory was retained after the interim council was dissolved.

According to CERN's former director, Lew Kowarski, when the name was changed, the abbreviation could become the strange OERN[16] and Werner Heisenberg said that it "could still be CERN even if it was [not] the name."

The first president of CERN was Sir Benjamin Lockspeiser. Edoardo Amaldi was CERN's general secretary in the early stages of operations, when it was still ad hoc, the first Director-General (1954) was Felix Bloch.

The lab was initially devoted to the study of atomic nuclei, but was soon applied to higher energy physics, mainly concerned with the study of interactions between subatomic particles. For this reason, the CERN-run laboratory is often referred to as the European particle physics laboratory (Laboratoire européen pour la physique des particles), which better describes the research carried out there.

Founding Members of CERN

At the sixth meeting of the CERN Council held in Paris between 29 June and 1 July 1953, the convention establishing the organization was signed on condition that it was ratified by 12 states. The Convention was gradually ratified by the 12 founding Member States: Belgium, Denmark, France, the Federal Republic of Germany, Greece, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom and Yugoslavia.

Similar Ads

Be the first to comment

your comment